BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis

09-18-2011, 01:36 PM   #1
gsrbri
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: F87 6MT

Brake Review - 1 Day DE at NHMS - Stock w/Cool carbon Pads

I ran my E90 ZCP at NHMS w/the Porsche Northeast Region on Friday. The car is stock w/only a pad updgrade (Cool Carbon pads) and ATE Blue brake fluid. Tires are the Conti SC3.

I am a beginner/novice w/the PCA, just to give an idea on ability, so I'm not too hard on the brakes.

The Cool Carbons were bedded per their recommendations (excellent pad transfer to rotors) and brake fluid was changed two days before the event. The pads have been nice and quiet, although I'm a stickler for good caliper surface lube and they have shims, so they only groan slightly when really hot when coming to a slow stop.

At the track, the pad offered good bite and fade resistance. The hard braking toward turn 3...felt I should get better deceleration, but still not too bad. By the end of the day, the pad material transfer still uniform and not excessive. Factory rotors seemed to manage heat well, w/the aluminum pins and aluminum rotor hats. Wheels barely got hot. Pedal got soft for the last session, which I attribute to my hottest (fastest) session and boiling the fluid. Pedal is still soft, so going to bleed/switch fluid in the next day or two.

Pads held up well, had good track performance, and I think I may look into Castrol SRF fluid, as the porsche guys all have good luck w/this fluid and a higher boiling point than ATE Blue/Gold. It was an ambient cool (temp) day, though, so managing heat w/the brakes seemed easy.

Feedback welcomed. -Brian
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2011, 01:41 PM   #2
1MOREMOD
-
United_States
Rep
Drives: Race car->