BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

07-20-2008, 10:59 AM   #1
wa128
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2012 AW 135i DCT

Standard audio upgraded...WOW!

Sorry for the long post but I just wanted to share my experience in having the speakers in the standard audio system upgraded and hopefully pass along some useful information for those wanting to do the same. Many of you, I'm sure, already know most of this.

I'm no audiophile and am a complete noob in the car audio scene. Many might say the system is ok and good enough so why waste the time and money. In the past I might agreed but not this time. "Good enough" was not good enough. At this stage in life I wanted to have and enjoy something better so I dropped some bucks to upgrade.

I consulted and enlisted the services of a very friendly, patient, informative and well versed professional named Scott at Speakerlab in downtown Seattle. My goals were simple:
- keep the functionality of the steering wheel controls
- achieve a noticeable improvement in bass and overall sound quality
- minimize having to use up trunk space (no sub enclosures)
- keep the cabin looking like stock (no cutting or hole punching)
- use quality components given a relatively limited budget

Scott’s initial proposal were 4" Hertz speakers with separate matching tweeters from this Italian company's Energy Series for the doors. 6" Morel Hybrid Ovation woofers to replace the 8" subs under the seats. Power from a Zapco i-Force 450 amp. Original BMW amp to drive the rear speakers which were not being changed.