BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

05-21-2018, 01:53 PM   #1
shashankj88
Rep
Drives: 2010 BMW M3

New driver training

Hello,
I've been doing HPDE's for a few years now but have never done an autocross event. My wife wants to get in the game now and I think that she should start off with an autocross event. However, she needs some instruction on vehicle dynamics, limits, race line..... before she can endanger any track workers. Any suggestions or recommendations for driver education or autocross schools in the Metro detroit MI area? Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2018, 02:38 PM   #2
dparm
Stop the hate, get a V8
United_States
Rep
Drives: C7 Corvette GS, AMG C63 S

Quote:
Originally Posted by shashankj88 View Post
Hello,
I've been doing HPDE's for a few years now but have never done an autocross event. My wife wants to get in the game now and I think that she should start off with an autocross event. However, she needs some instruction on vehicle dynamics, limits, race line..... before she can endanger any track workers. Any suggestions or recommendations for driver education or autocross schools in the Metro detroit MI area? Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks

Check with your regional SCCA. They often hold these types of seminars. Motorsport Reg also allows you to filter on driver's education events. Otherwise, do your research for her first autocross and make sure the club will have classes + in-car instruction. Email the organizers and be upfront.

There are definitely "schools" you can go to, but they're typically not cheap and require you to travel. The only thing I can think of in the Midwest is the intro class that Autobahn Country Club does here outside of Chicago.
      05-21-2018, 03:02 PM   #3
dogbone
Colonel
Rep
Drives: '09 E90 M3 - IB

Garage List
2009 BMW E92 M3  [0.00]