BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

Mporium BMW

06-21-2017, 11:22 PM   #1
-BEASTMW-
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2011 E90 M3

Pad suggestions?

It's my first time doing brakes and I would love some pad suggestions for track only - I also need street pads, but posted about that in the brake forum. My car has 48k and has not seen the track (that I know of - got it last year at 42k).

I only plan to do HPDEs 1-2x/yr, but my closest track is Laguna Seca, which is hard on brakes. I have seen many suggestions for track, but not sure how to pick one over another really as it seems people are happy/unhappy with numerous brands/compounds. I'd like something that's at least somewhat low noise in case I don't have time to swap pads for a few days after a track day (this is my DD).

My car is otherwise stock, and I plan to do upgraded fluid and stainless lines at the same time. I am a low-intermediate driver.
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2017, 10:38 AM   #2
///Mobbin
Colonel
Rep
Drives: m3

Not really any good "low noise" options from my experience, though sometimes I wait a week before swapping and just deal with the screeching for a week--just turn up the radio!

I have tried a lot of PFC and Pagid pads and highly recommend Pagid Yellows, RS29 or RS19. Clark at Apex Performance has good pricing as do some others.

For street pads I like Stoptech Street pads, I have also run PFC Z-rated but not sure they are worth the extra money over the Stoptechs.

Don't try hybrid pads, been there and regretted it. Castol SRF brake fluid is my go-to also after having a number of other lesser fluids fade on me.

Enjoy Laguna Seca!
      06-22-2017, 12:11 PM   #3
-BEASTMW-
Lieutenant
Rep

Thanks! Someone has a set of used (8-9mm left) RS19s on here, so I may go for those. There is also a new set of PFC-08s that someone is looking to unload.