BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

Mporium BMW

04-08-2017, 11:17 PM   #1
irex511
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: e90 M3, '21 X7

Longish Lasting Tires for HPDE-only Use?

Looking for some opinions on tire with a unique twist - I plan to use them just for HPDE's (bolt on at the track), but since it's an HPDE and not a competition, I care more about tire life than maximum stick.

I ran Bridgestone Potenza Re-71r's (which I do use to compete on for autocross), and managed to kill the fronts in just one day at TWS last month (reasonable tread left but the edge of the tread started to chunk out even at higher pressures). I recognize that this probably means two things:

a) I'm overcooking my corner entry speeds (but hey, I'm still learning here)

b) Camber could probably solve many of my problems (the problem being that to stay legal for FS in SCCA, camber plates aren't an option).

So, keeping in mind they'll go on an 18" square setup, and given that they're for track only, have you had any good experience with a track tire that'll last me a bit longer? Any recommendations or wild opinions are greatly appreciated. (Hoosier R7, Maxxis RC-1, BFG R1, BFG Rival S 1.5, Falken 615K, RS3, RS4, R1R, Z2, VR-1, R888(r?), NT-01, RA-1, other options???).

Also, here's the "carnage" on my fronts from TWS...

P.S. Debated whether or not this belonged in wheels and tires, but figured my track rat friends here would know better
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2017, 11:27 PM   #2
roastbeef
Lieutenant General
United_States
Rep
Drives: E92 M3

you're right, some camber plates would do you good, but you said you can't add camber plates. (what if you added camber plates, but the camber was withing oem spec for your competitions?)