BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

European Auto Source (EAS)

05-22-2016, 04:11 PM   #1
crash32
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: E92 M3

A few questions about driving technique… experienced drivers chime in!!!

Hey guys I am very new to the world of motorsports and only have 2 HPDE under my belt. Now…. don't laugh, but both of them were in my old Audi A5. I had sold my M3 to fund my Ariel Atom and now am back in a M3. I understand that driving a 3,600 lb vehicle with 400 plus hp will give me a much different experience than a 4,500 lb AWD with a measly 220 hp rating.
With that being said I had a few questions that seem a bit confusing to me. Of course we all know that smooth is fast. To me it seems as if once you get up serious lap times that even smooth driving won't feel so smooth although in reality it is smooth driving.
First question is in reference to smooth driving and braking. I am hearing very mixed feedback as far as braking from my instructors (both of them told me different things) and some of you guys here on the forum. My first HPDE I would gently engage the brakes at the very beginning and progressively brake harder as to approached the point where I started to crank on the wheel for the turn. Of course this is wrong and wears out the brakes and results in slower lap times.
Some of you guys recommend at very first hit the brakes very hard and get most of your braking done asap and then as you go into the turn the braking should be minimal. Others have said at first brake pretty firm at first, but not too hard as it will upset the balance of the car.
Should my first contact with the brakes be hitting the brakes very hard deeper into the straight and then be at the point where I am braking very gently right before the turn?