Coby Wheel
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Wheels | Tires -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack

12-28-2014, 08:16 AM   #1
jewels
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2017 X3 & 2015 M4 Vert

Track,Street Wheels & Tires

Need some opinions

I am close to ordering a new set of wheels & tires for the trip to the track (200miles one way) as well as on track. I'm a driving instructor that has sold my race car (911) 3 years ago (ran Hoosiers) but don't have any experience behind the drivers seat with a Beemer. Yes I have been on the track probably longer than some of you have lived but advice is still needed
I use my M4 as a daily driver 3-4 days a week & will change back to stock wheels once home from track. Not planning on doing any suspension work and aside from changing the usual brake fluid & pads nothing more.
I'm looking at Forgestar deep dish F14 in 19X9.5 & 19X11.
Thinking of going 265 or 275 /30 in front & 295/30 rear...
RE11 or AD08R are a consideration...maybe even Mich PSS

Any input would be appreciated.
      12-28-2014, 08:20 AM   #2
Black Gold
Major General
Rep
Drives: M3

Personally wouldn't run a 1.5 inch stagger.

Also wouldn't go with 19 for the track. Run either 10" square or 9.5/10.5 forgelines or other custom forged wheel. Apex makes a 18x10 et25 wheel that can be run square

Run a 275 r888 or ad08r 18 tire or a staggered 265/285 or 275/295 on the 9.5/10.5 combo. Also, pss is not good on track for this car. It's too heavy and pss are too soft. A good driver will tear them up and they get greasy after 7-10 minutes of hard driving per session.

If you need help with offsets on the staggered combo, just ask. I went through tje same process on my bc forged 19s I just got (track and street) and got the offsets right.

Good luck, and kudos for tracking the m!
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2014, 08:29 AM   #3
///M Ryder
Grown Azz Man
United_States
Rep
Drives: GT4