BMW
X1 / X2
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BIMMERPOST Universal Forums Off-Topic Discussions Board Watches Least depreciating/appreciating options

04-04-2014, 05:52 PM   #1
IzzyGray
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011 M3

Least depreciating/appreciating options

So I'm eyeing up a Breitling Montbrillant as my next piece(just starting out and wanting to add to my Omega Legends Schumacher and Tag Heuer Formula One). I'm just starting out and don't really have the budget for 5-6k. The Breitling can be had for 4k gently used(I'm a sucker for the busier looking, triple dial faces). I'm trying to minimize any depreciation by purchasing used but was wondering if there's better options that might even appreciate(if not minimally depreciates). Thoughts?
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2014, 06:16 PM   #2
consolidated
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: F80 M3

Garage List
Vintage Rolex.

Can't think of any modern watches at that price point that will appreciate.

Buying used is definitely the way to to go and the best value proposition, but has it's risks.
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2014, 07:41 PM   #3
IzzyGray
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep

So, in your opinion, there are no modern watches that might look like the Breitling Montbrillant that would hold its value? Even after taking the initial value loss from buying used? So for example, I purchase a 8k preowned watch for 5k. Will that 5k hold? Or will it perpetually lose value? Is there a modern watch that might behave in that manner? Or at the very least minimally depreciates?
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2014, 07:56 PM   #4
BEM-S4
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: Dinan M235, Dinan Sport Wagon