E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Do I need winter tyres

12-06-2013, 02:40 PM   #1
regy53
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: 335d

Do I need winter tyres

Hello Guys,

I have never ever owned winter tyres before. I dont know why but after seeing everybody post on here I am kind of thinking I do but I dont know

My 335D is my only vehicle, I use it for my business and cover 30k per year minimum. I do not really go out in the snow if any as if I did I would not just be nipping up the road my customers are across the UK.

I bought some wheels on here the other week as they were cheap, but winter tyres (nokians) are some £640 quid in a fairly narrow tyre size.

Now I dont really know what to do. My main customer is 30 miles away in North London, its not the end of the world if I do not shop up on snow days ( I am a consultant handling there used assets so it can wait )

My rear tyres fitted to my standard wheels are dreadfully low.

I worry that the winter tyres are not long lasting like my pilot sports, I really need tyres that can handle the miles (motorway miles)

What do you think? Should I fit winter wheels with winter tyres, winter wheels with standard ish tyres, or just stick to my 19's.

For info I have never owned a RWD in the winter. let alone one with 350 ponys and 700 torques.

cheers
Ross

Last edited by regy53; 12-06-2013 at 02:47 PM..
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2013, 03:19 PM   #2
stevens
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: e92 M3

I wouldnt drive my car in sleet let alone snow without the winters, ive got stuck on small hills with the smallest of snow and like you I travel around the country, some times its really bad in customer areas and having rear wheel drive and a slight incline without winters is a death trap, just my opinion :P
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2013, 03:47 PM   #3
rs32
Team UK - Hybrid Audio Technologies
Rep
Drives: 335d M Sport