BMW
X1 / X2
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BIMMERPOST Universal Forums Off-Topic Discussions Board Photography/Videography D40 vs. XTi on night shots / low light setting

09-01-2007, 05:25 AM   #1
LWL
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: G05 X5

Garage List
D40 vs. XTi on night shots / low light setting

I am trying to decide on either getting D40 or XTi for my first DSLR. The one main concern is the picture quality on a low light/candle/night time setting that D40 would not perform as well. I saw some night time pics of XTi from several members here, and they looked pretty good. Any one has good experience with D40's low light setting ??

Since I am a real beginner, I dont know if I want to spend the extra $200 to go to XTi. But if its worth it, I guess I would just go with it. What do you guys think?

Last edited by LWL; 09-01-2007 at 05:41 AM..
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2007, 07:00 AM   #2
Neema
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: a few BMWs

Its worth it......D40 FTL. Nikons dont hold up as well in the dark and thats well known. Canons have better ISO to noise ratios (they can maintain less noise at higher ISO settings, though I always keep mine on the lowest setting and only SOMETIMES bump it up a notch or two).

LTMW Widebody+1M front bumper+Slek CF Lip|M3 Hood|StopTech BBK|M-Sport Rear Bumper+DD CF Diffuser|Custom Recaro Seats|KW V2|BavX LS3|M3 Side Skirts+Custom CF Lip|BBS CHR 19x10.5+BBS Lugs|LCI Taillights|RD Sport Anti-Sway Bars|GIAC S2|ER Intercooler+CF Shroud+Charge Pipe|Tial BOV|Injen Intake|MS downpipes|Custom Exhaust|BMS Oil Catch Can|M3 DCT wheel+TiD CF Paddles|BMW CF Trunk Spoiler|Aluminum Pedals
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2007, 11:32 AM   #3
LOLrance
The Law.
Taiwan
Rep
Drives: BMW

You cannot judge how a camera performs on low light conditions JUST by the body. Obviously a lens with a high f stop (such as my 17-40 f4) would not perform as great at night as my 50mm f1.4.