E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Hi all! and DPF help needed!

08-16-2012, 11:30 AM   #1
SLiMKhan
Tech Ninja
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: 320d M Edition MSport (E90 08)

Hi all! and DPF help needed!

Hi all,

New to the forums, the name's Slim, have been browsing here and other forums for a while but decided to join the local UK one I thought was more friendly/inclusive (this one), as I'm currently the owner of a 2008 e90 320d M Sport special edition (photos to come soon) and intend to be for quite a while.

I like working on cars myself (technically rather than mechanically), and have always handled diagnostics etc myself on my other cars (using ODBII), however I'm new to this on the BMW.

I know I've kind of summarily posted something in the DPF cleaning fluid thread, but thought a separate thread would probably be better.

I have a problem, that occurred whilst driving yesterday, just before a motorway run I had a Particle Filter message on my iDrive display, and on the instrument cluster (with relevant warning triangle). Now the past few weeks I've done very little motorway driving, so i'm initially thinking my DPF is a big clogged, and needs a forced regeneration. I use this car as my main car, and need to drive it practically everyday (clocking another 150 or so motorway miles today) :/

Here lies the problem, although I've done diagnostics on other cars I'm new to it on the BMW's, and although I've ordered a K+DCAN cable (and know I'll probably need INPA or other software), I'm a n00b at this, and therefore need a bit of guidance. :|