E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / Warranty > NEED Help

09-30-2006, 09:06 PM   #1
uhaulball
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: e90 330xi

Exclamation NEED Help

I plan on changing out all the bulbs in my e90 that require access from the wheel wells.

What are all the things i need to lift my car and remove the wheels. I understand there is a specific "torque" to all the wheel lug nuts, do i need some sort of mechanical tool or what. What is everything i need to know basically. I've never done something like this before

Thanks. i look forward to a response probably from HRC lol.

Last edited by uhaulball; 10-01-2006 at 12:09 AM..
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2006, 04:06 AM   #2
SoYank
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2009 E90 335i MT

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by uhaulball
I plan on changing out all the bulbs in my e90 that require access from the wheel wells.

What are all the things i need to lift my car and remove the wheels. I understand there is a specific "torque" to all the wheel lug nuts, do i need some sort of mechanical tool or what. What is everything i need to know basically. I've never done something like this before

Thanks. i look forward to a response probably from HRC lol.
First, you need some means of lifting the body of the car and the wheels off the ground in a manner that allows the wheel to spin freely.

Next, you need jack stands. Never, ever, should you work under or around a car while it sits on a jack. We all want you to be safe and continue contributing to the forum.

Next, you need a lug wrench. I haven't looked in the "tool kit" in the trunk in a while but I don't think there is one in there because of the RFT. So, you need to acquire one that fits the lugbolts.

This is all you need for removing the wheels.