ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Technical Talk > Suspension and Braking Chat
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

10-12-2009, 12:12 AM   #1
nutzkicker617
Private
Rep
Drives: Z4 M Coupe

Noise coming from front right suspension....need help figuring out

Hello zpost-

I have been roaming around this site for a few months now, and would like to thank all of you for contribution that has allowed me to learn so much about my 07 Z4MC. I have a problem and need your guys' help.

I took over a lease with 12 months left and then purchased the car when the lease was about to terminate. I loved the car too much to let it go. I was quite hesitant to purchase the vehicle because there was already some known under car damage when I stepped into it. I didn't know what happened to it exactly.

There were a few issues that I ran into, but I took care of all of them that I know of. The under carriage reinforcement plate was bent and touching the front right lower control arm. I removed the plate and bent it back so its clear of the control arm. I loctite'd the front and rear sway bar mounting bolts. One day, i felt severe vibration and it turned out that 2 of the passenger side motor mount bolts were broken and 2 were loose, so i changed all four plus loctite and also did the same to the driver's side as well.
This was not covered under warranty. I tried calling BMW NA and had someone working on my case but I never got any of my $800 back for bolt extraction and replacement of passenger side motor mount/bracket and bolts.