BMW M3 and M4 - The Icons
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
home
Technical Sections Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in | Oil & Fluids | Servicing | TSB | Recalls

04-08-2022, 04:25 PM   #1
OF Hero
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: F80!

So just had break-in service done

First off, noticed 7 extra miles on the odometer. Didn't think an oil/diff fluid change would require a test drive but even that seems excessive? I was in a rush to pick up the kids from school so I didn't bring it up yet.

Also I might have dreamed this, but I could have sworn that I read somewhere that the redline/yellow shift zone is increased after break-in? Or am I imagining this?

Lastly, I also got my summers put on (Michelins). I took delivery on winters so this is my first time on the Michelins, but there is some noticeable extra feedback/buzz at 80mph+. Tires need to bed in a bit? I assume wheels come balanced from factory? Or do the front lug nuts need to be re-seated?

The tech even sent me a video of him doing a walk around/under inspection of the car and I thought "wow, these guys are really professional." Now I'm like..??
      04-08-2022, 04:46 PM   #2
Tall Tom Cruise
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: '21 G80 M3

Seems normal to me, not worth making a stink about IMO. On my break-in service, I had +6 or 7 miles. 10 seems a little excessive but remember they have to get the car up to operating temps during the drive.

On my most recent service I had +4 miles, but I also noticed the passenger seat was pushed back significantly and there was a small collection of leaves/dirt on the passenger seat floor mat. Clearly, the tech took his coworker out with him on the final test drive. Initially I was kinda pissed.. but realized it's not really a big deal. I didn't bring it up. I just wish at the very least they didn't leave dirt on the floor mat. It's a new M3 so I'm sure the techs were all giddy to take a short ride in it.