F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > iDrive Audio & Nav issue - possible blown fuse?
Extreme Powerhouse

09-11-2020, 01:49 PM   #1
S6K
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 2020 X3M

Hi all, I would love some advice troubleshooting this issue as I am not too experienced with electronics. Providing all information because I am not sure what is relevant and what is not-

Yesterday there was a huge storm in DC metro area which I got caught up in in my commute. Some standing water on highway but nothing crazy. Very heavy rain. Parked car, started it up 4 hrs later. 10 minutes into commute home I herd an audible zap noise followed by the iDrive system rebooting. After this iDrive showed "loading" when trying to reconnect to Bluetooth and USB. Nav screen stuck on "loading Navigation System". Radio works fine. Tried AUX connection and audio only plays through speakers on left half of car (may just be my AUX cable IDK).. fast forward..

Read codes through MHD platform- Cat underperforming (standard, I have hi flow cat), and O2 sensor short circuit (never seen this before, not sure if it's relevant or not).

Browsed forum. Tried resetting the iDrive via locking car for a few hours and through reflashing ECU. Every time the iDrive system boots for the first time there is an audible almost clicking type noise coming from box located under iDrive display beneath AC controls. Clicking noise only occurs when iDrive initially boots.

Pulled up fuse diagram and I see a good number of fuses in the box under the hood are dedicated to the front control unit. I have never tested or replaced a fuse before in any of my vehicles. Really praying it's just a fuse and not an iDrive replacement.