05-09-2018, 02:07 PM   #1
Dwaynos
Captain
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: F10 M5 Monte Carlo Blue

M5 Purchase Advice

Hi,
New to the forum and looking for some advice on my first M5 purchase.

I've done a lot of research into common issues experienced with the F10 and think I've got everything covered but would be nice to hear some problems you may have had.

Things to look out for when purchasing, things to avoid etc.

The Big One - Warranties. I want a comprehensive warranty on the car from day one but I don't trust some warranty companies would honor the cover they say they provide when it comes down to it. I work in the motor trade so have seen some of the excuses they can use to get out of it. Id like to hear some recommendations from people with experience. BMW seems like the obvious choice but at £120 ish per month seems quite steep.

Anyway I think that's enough for now, don't want things to get too complicated just yet.

Thanks a lot.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2018, 02:40 PM   #2
JK-M5
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: MBB F90 M5

The most important thing buddy is that 1200 miles run in service if thats not done walk away!

other than that little things like cracks in the discs which are £1150 with pads just for the front.

try and change the oil every 4k miles, tolerences are tight on rod bearing with these cars so stick to a good maintenance plan.

ive had mine 4 years now, got it from new put 34k on it been a brilliant car, not sure what to get yet as its such a good all round motor.

0345 641 9790 thats the BMW extended warranty if you buy a car 3 years old. 800 quid for 1 year which is not bad, think there's a 250 excess on that for that price though mind. 100 for no excess, depends on individual.

i did have a clutch in my car at 32k the issue seemed to be when i put the car in reverse such a slight shudder BMW said the car was fine but i harped on about it until they put in a new clutch so check cars for this when you road testing.