E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wash, Wax, Detailing and Cosmetic protection/repairs > OptiCoat vs. Wheel Wax for Wheels

04-28-2016, 11:57 AM   #1
BoogeyMan'sBMW
Lieutenant Colonel
Bangladesh
Rep
Drives: SLOW

OptiCoat vs. Wheel Wax for Wheels

Hey guys,

I'm a newb when it comes to this, but I am looking for something to protect/seal my new wheels with so that it makes it easier to clean them.

The wheels are Satin black (not sure if that matters in comparison to glossy wheels). Will OptiCoat and Wheel Wax have the same effect when it comes to cleaning? Anyone have any experience with this?

Thanks in advance.
Appreciate 0
      04-28-2016, 05:00 PM   #2
Detailed Image
United_States
Rep
Drives: Detailed by Detailed Image

While it is true that each of the mentioned products serve the same purpose (to protect the wheels), they are completely different products.

Opti-Coat is a nano coating that will bond to the surface of the wheel to provide durable protection which lasts years in most cases rather than weeks or maybe months if you are lucky with wheel wax. Nano coatings are also much more chemical resistant and heat resistant which helps provide an all together better layer of protection than traditional waxes or sealants.

Opti-Coat, the product you mentioned, is only available through authorized professional installers and requires more prep work and time to apply than a traditional wheel wax or sealant.

There are many great consumer wheel coatings that you can purchase and apply on your own if you do not wish to hire a professional to do it.

Examples of wheel nano coatings available to consumers: CarPro DLUX, 22ple VM1 Extreme, GTechniq C5 Wheel Armor

Let me know if you've got any questions!

-Zach
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2016, 11:17 PM   #3
BravoJohny33
Major
Rep
Drives: BMW 2010

You can buy opti-coat here..

http://www.autopia-carcare.com/opti-coat.html#reviews