BMW
X1 / X2
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BIMMERPOST Universal Forums General Automotive (non-BMW) Talk + Photos/Videos 2014 Passat Wolfsburg - Great non bmw DD for my better half...and cheap VW...

01-23-2016, 06:49 PM   #1
StealYourFace
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: F30 328i M 6mt, E36 M3

2014 Passat Wolfsburg - Great non bmw DD for my better half...and cheap VW...

So I have been planning on getting an e90 wagon with a stick for my husband for a while but the prices on the bastards are nuts (LCI). A stick 328i Wagon is commanding 335i sport money and then some with decent miles..

Anyways, I am a sales manager at a hyundai store, and we recently bought a few 2014 Passat Wolfsburgs, ex rentals, loaded except for moonroof. Thanks to the VW diesel BS, the prices on late model VWs has tanked.

For a car that is pretty much everything I don't care for - wrong wheel drive, automatic, and turbocharged, I can't get over how great this car is to drive.
Very responsive throttle with no perceivable lag esp in sport mode, excellent steering response - you can really feel the front end and its a nice ratio. Awesome visibility, very nice underrated interior and a ton of room. It reminds me a bit of my family's old e34 from when I was a kid. Great on gas too, I've been driving one for a week and averaging 32 mpg (I average 24 in my n52 stick e90 for reference). It's even decent in the snow despite the shitty all seasons, needless to say a set of snows will go on the oe wheels.

The exterior is a tad bland, but still handsome, good proportions and one of those cars that will loo good 10 yr fro now. And since I can buy this car stupid cheap, realistically we can drive it for a few years and sell it for 90% what I've got into it, especially if I put a 6 year transferable ext warranty on it for my cost.

I am just seriously impressed by this car. I can get my hands on a dark grey one with miles under 30k, I think that will be the one..