E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wash, Wax, Detailing and Cosmetic protection/repairs > Rupes pad break down

12-30-2015, 09:39 AM   #1
Whit45
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: '08 E90 335i/'10 E92 M3/'13 Is

Rupes pad break down

I've been polishing family and friends cars for the last 4 years. Been using the PC RO sander/polisher with either Lake City or Uber pads and Meguiar's products. Results have been ok, but slow. I decided to go with Rupes LHR21 with their blue, green, and yellow pads, using Meguiars 101 and 205. I got the feel of the 21 on one of my work truck hoods first, and the results were fast and good. Bring the wife"s black A3 in the garage and get started on it. The paint had a few scratches and swirls, but nothing major. Starting with the Rupes blue pad and Meg. 101, I remove all of the imperfections. I back the car out into the sunlight and let mother nature shine. I notice a little bit of hazing, and some very fine swirls, but the paint is slick. Slap on the green pad and Meg. 205 and go to work. After buffing off the 205 the paint was about 90% micro swirl free. I then hit it with the Rupes yellow and the Meg.205 and got it into the 95% range, I'm happy.
The downside to this, is that the Rupes blue and green pads were shedding like a long haired cat at the end of the job, and look worn out. 6" pads are $12 a piece! I bought the Rupes pads because the are suppose to hold up under the LHR21' large throw. One supplier told me that the blue and green pads break down faster using the Solvent based products compared to H2O products, but I cannot find any info to support this theory. The supplier suggested Meg. Micro Fiber cutting and polishing pads, and then use the Rupes yellow as the last step. What do you guys think?
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2015, 01:15 PM   #2
psnt1ol
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: e90