E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Anyone seen or used this; Engine Carbon Clean?

09-07-2015, 10:52 AM   #1
Len_Beach
Major
Rep
Drives: 435d

Anyone seen or used this; Engine Carbon Clean?

This popped up on my FaceBook feed earlier. http://www.enginecarbonclean.com

The reviews all looked good but they always do!

After a bit of reading the principle seems to be injection of a fine water based mist or "Hydrogen technology" as it's referred to!

It sounds like it may help with carbon build up but I'd be sceptical as to where the build up goes and how good 30 minutes of misted water into the intake can be for the engine.

Thoughts?
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2015, 11:21 AM   #2
Soul_Glo
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: G20

I like it because it is solvent free but it would never hit the back of the valves and clean that area. There is only so much it can do. I'm no rocket scientist but I doubt it would break the carbon down to a level where it would be safely removed. Sometimes as you know these cleaners can dislodge large pieces of carbon and become more trouble than they are worth. My two pence worth. A good old Italian tune up where you can safely do so is good for cleaning as are safer methods such as walnut blasting. Personally I wouldn't look into that unless I was at 60k miles and had been making a lot of short trips. If I was on the motorway daily for example then I doubt I'd be a victim of it unless I was using cheap fuel.
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2015, 11:49 AM   #3
ErvGotti
Major
No_Country
Rep
Drives: 2008 135i 6MT

Garage List
2008 135i  [6.00]
Not sure about you NA guys, but this definitely will not work for us DI turbo guys. I've had the manual carbon cleaning service done, and after seeing how dense and sticky build up is and talking to the tech, the only way to rid the N54/55 is through good ole fashion elbow grease.
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2015, 12:10 PM   #4
Len_Beach