F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Fuel pump
Extreme Powerhouse

08-03-2015, 11:52 AM   #1
Avenged328i
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 14 328i

Fuel pump

Does anyone have any knowledge on a fuel pump (328)?

Reason I ask, and I know I will probably get flamed for this, but lately I have been running my car on low fuel.
About 20 mi or less - fill up - etc.
Recently I just got a check engine light.
I assume it has to do something with the fuel pump since I have been the car with low fuel and not topping it off when it reaches 1/4 tank (like I usually do).

Not sure how to word the question since I have zero knowledge of the mechanics of BMW fuel pump, but what is the material, location, etc.

Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2015, 11:55 AM   #2
bahasad
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: F30, E90

Quote:
Originally Posted by Avenged328i View Post
Does anyone have any knowledge on a fuel pump (328)?

Reason I ask, and I know I will probably get flamed for this, but lately I have been running my car on low fuel.
About 20 mi or less - fill up - etc.
Recently I just got a check engine light.
I assume it has to do something with the fuel pump since I have been the car with low fuel and not topping it off when it reaches 1/4 tank (like I usually do).

Not sure how to word the question since I have zero knowledge of the mechanics of BMW fuel pump, but what is the material, location, etc.

Thanks.
Get a scan of the car and see what codes pop up.

I remember one time I ran my old E36 out of gas. The fuel pump had consistent issues after that day.

But since there is still fuel in your car, it might be another code.
      08-03-2015, 07:51 PM   #3
CalCarNut
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2015 F36 Jet Black Sport Line

Garage List