F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Leather Dashboard
proTUNING Freaks

08-22-2014, 07:53 PM   #1
simongym
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2012 BMW 328i Sport

Leather Dashboard

Overall I am still extremely happy with my 2012 F30, and am not looking for a new car any time soon.

That being said, I will admit that I am extremely envious of anyone ordering a 2015 because of the leather dashboard.

Does any with experience doing interior modifications know how difficult and/or expensive it will be to do a DIY aftermarket upgrade with the OEM pieces?
Appreciate 1
      08-22-2014, 08:13 PM   #2
DecemberStorm
Lieutenant
Canada
Rep
Drives: G82 M4C

I am no expert but it's probably too big of a project to be feasible as it involves the entire upper dash and lower dash pieces, so it's not as simple as swapping wood for metal trim stripes for example.

I have seen one in the dealer showroom (Canadian models had this option for 2014 and they charge $1200). The texture itself is very smooth, pretty much the same as the leather on the M Sport Steering Wheel and the sport auto shifter (they are nappa leather IIRC). Aesthetics is alright, it doesn't feel that soft/supple and the black stitching is too subtle. But I think for that money DHP is a much better proposition as it doesn't put leather where it's needed (i.e. driver's right knee, where currently it's rubbed against hard plastics). The M3/M4 has fat padding in that area tho so we will probably see that in the LCI.
      08-23-2014, 06:45 AM   #3
G30 B58
Pace Car Driver
Rep
Drives: '22 AW G30 B58 M-Sport

We have the leather dash on order, ED this Wed.