BMW
X1 / X2
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW X1 (F48) and X2 (F39) Forums General BMW X2 Forum (F39) Anyone upgrade HiFi speakers to Focals (or other brands)?

06-10-2020, 09:26 PM   #1
Tarekith
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: BMW M35i

Anyone upgrade HiFi speakers to Focals (or other brands)?

The stock audio system in the X2 is just... annoying to me. There's this huge peak around 3-5kHz that just makes everything sound overly harsh, and with just bass and treble tone controls there's no way to tame the midrange. I'm looking for a relatively quick way to tone down some of that harshness and improve the sound of things.

I'm a professional audio mastering engineer AND I used to compete in car audio many years ago, so I know how quickly I can get over obsessive about my music listening. At some point I will likely do a complete audio make over of my 2020 M35i, but for now I just want a quick drop-in fix to tame some of that harshness and improve the imaging.

I've already seen some videos on replacing the 5 main speakers for the HiFi system (do we have the subs under the seats btw?), so I know I can do it myself easy enough. But is it worth roughly $1k for the Focal replacements? I'm a big fan of their speakers from the music studio monitors they make, but I'm open to other ideas as well.

Thanks!
      06-11-2020, 05:07 AM   #2
billnchristy
Major
Rep
Drives: 2022 M440xi GC

Garage List
I think changing the amp would probably be more beneficial but I’m thinking about parts express speakers, under half the cost of bavsound and the whole system is less than a set of focal.
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2020, 08:33 PM   #3
rice_rocket88
Major
No_Country
Rep
Drives: E60 F48 F39