BMW
X1 / X2
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BIMMERPOST Universal Forums Off-Topic Discussions Board Video + PC Gaming / Computing 4k/8k - HDR - Surround - Content

02-25-2021, 08:15 AM   #1
oVeRdOsE.
Major
Rep
Drives: F25 E91 Audi Avnt E90 Cayenne

4k/8k - HDR - Surround - Content

I'm quite new in home theater and Im I was surprised how the sellers pushing all the ;''' 4k, hdr10 atmos''' thing and there's not much available.

- yes; netflix, disney , google, amazon, hbo; got 4k, but the sound track are rarely (see almost never) in surround .

Plus , you need to get all those provider (100$+cad/month) to get your favorite show (this will increase piracy for sure, just like the mid90' with all specialize channels...)

- popcorn time, no thanks, low quality stuff and always in 2ch, some times 5.1

- not into torrent much, Id like to pay to get quality, but even that, there's almost nothing ! at least nothing to enjoy the 3 big things : uhd, hrd, and over 5.1 ch , atmos or dtsX.

- A friend of I shared his PLex server, he rip his own bluray, and even that he only have few 8ch movies and 0x hdr, 2x 4k.

So from my understanding, the only option left is Blurays ?
Why all this hype, if most people can't enjoy the full potential of their home theater? uhd hrd and surround is quite 'old', tech speaking.
Appreciate 0
      02-25-2021, 08:24 AM   #2
jg05
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: ’23 X3 M40i Brooklyn Grey

Think 3D. It’s what the manufacturers try to make people THINK they need. A lot of hype to sell more TVs, audio equipment, etc. turns out no one really wanted 3D and it flopped. All just to sell more equipment without listening to their customers. Now things are more ‘disposable’ and just replaced more often or held onto forever if possible to keep it working that long.

I used to chase the latest and greatest but when the 3D debacle ran into the ground, I decided to wait on being an early adopter.