BMW
X1 / X2
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW X1 (F48) and X2 (F39) Forums General BMW X1 Forum (F48) What exactly is the Steptronic sports box option?

12-19-2022, 02:25 AM   #1
floydthebarber71
Rep
Drives: BMW X1 20d

What exactly is the Steptronic sports box option?

Hi there

I've tried my best using the search function to see what's out there, so apologies if this has been answered before but I can't quite find anything.

I'm new to BMWs and see there have been various different gearboxes in them with all similar descriptions in the past few years.

I'm looking at a 2018 X1 that has the "steptronic sports transmission with dual clutches and gearshift paddles" as an added option which has been put in.

I know what it does, but what IS it? Is that the same Aisin 8-speed box with additional functionality? I read somewhere that is a ZF box but can't confirm this anywhere, so that looks like a rogue comment. And it's definitely not the full-blown DCT, right? So I'm just all-round confused.

I'll be taking it out of warranty, I know the ZF and Aisins are known to be reliable. But whatever this steptronic is, does that fall under the same umbrella? Or is it a vastly different box that could be an issue later?

Thanks!
Z
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2022, 03:08 AM   #2
Samuaw
Private
Rep
Drives: 440i

DCT= Dual Clutch
Aisins= Torque convertor which i have heard it a ZF replica of some sort.

Steptronic to my understanding is saying that you can shift manually on an auto gear box, and so that terminology is used interchangeably across different articles.

The best thing to do is go onto Realoem and check up which gearbox you have.
I am fairly certain they only shifted the 20i S drive models (and below) to the DCT for the LCI model which was released in 2019ish, whilst the X drive and high power models kept on the Aisin box

I am not sure of the reliability of the DCT nor the Aisin, but if the Aisin is truly a ZF replica, then it should be pretty good.