BMW
X1 / X2
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW X1 (F48) and X2 (F39) Forums General BMW X1 Forum (F48) Big screen retrofit

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-07-2019, 08:35 AM   #23
jsdh89j9ijkL
Private First Class
54
Rep
198
Posts

Drives: motorcycle
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: there

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MJE60 View Post
Hi
I switched my 6.5” touch display for a genuine bmw oem 8.8” version last week and am absolutely delighted.
Nice work. As for the touch controller, I've never used it other than to discover, 'hmm, that's a shame'. It might be better on a LHD for right handers.

If you ever work out how to go from ID5 to ID6, share ;-) As us ID5ers seem to have hit the end of any more USB satnav updates.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2019, 09:13 AM   #24
MJE60
First Lieutenant
MJE60's Avatar
England
258
Rep
380
Posts

Drives: BMW f48 xline 2.0 D
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Dorset, UK

iTrader: (0)

@jsdh89..

Hi
I am lucky enough to have later ENTRYNAV2 (mimics id6). I saw (on thread where someone had contacted senior BMW person) that the for earlier F48 HUs a “route map’ update is scheduled for March 2019, presumably they are waiting for all of the 3 year free update periods to expire before providing an update. Fingers crossed for you all.

Last edited by MJE60; 02-21-2019 at 01:43 PM..
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2019, 04:34 AM   #25
ShankM8
New Member
6
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: X1 sDrive18d
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Sydney, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MJE60 View Post
if any advice needed on fitting just ask
Can you please share how you got the dash trim off? I'm worried I'll damage the LED lighting.

Also did you have to get the CID trim too?:

https://www.ecstuning.com/b-genuine-...d/51459292128/
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2019, 01:47 PM   #26
MJE60
First Lieutenant
MJE60's Avatar
England
258
Rep
380
Posts

Drives: BMW f48 xline 2.0 D
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Dorset, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShankM8 View Post
Can you please share how you got the dash trim off? I'm worried I'll damage the LED lighting.

Also did you have to get the CID trim too?:

https://www.ecstuning.com/b-genuine-...d/51459292128/
No, I didn’t buy the trim, instead I stretched the existing adapter trim (see below) but if cost is not great buy the 8.8” size. There is only about 5mm diff in width. Make sure you use plastic trim removal tool, not metal, however only needed for the dash fascia trim.

The things I found tricky and advice;
1. In order to access the CID screen screws you will have to remove the fascia from the (radio/ac multi instrument display) as well as strip along front of dash. Start by removing radio/control fascia first, it is held in place by 4 clips & 3 studs. The 3 studs clip into the dash strip. Start at bottom and pull straight out (not too far as wire & plugs). You do not need to disconnect leads, just let it rest on centre consol.
2. For dash trim, start by passenger door, it pulls straight out but work your way along. The air vents will come out with the fascia strip, you will need to unclip the two leads for hazard/assist buttons. Two centre clips will probably be missing on the fascia trim in case you think you lost them, BMW saving a cent in the factory!
3. The screen is held in by two posi screws. Be careful, it is easy to lose them both. Make a tray out of Tin foil to place in gap between CID and the HU.
4. You do not need to remove the HU. Once CID screws are removed gently pull out, the cable will come out by about 6 inches which is enough to rotate the CID to get access to the plug in the back.
4. The plug is difficult to remove and the plastic is soft. There is a small clip on one side, press on and use a lflat blade screwdriver in lip at top to prise up the plug, it separates about 2/3 way down length but join can be difficult to see.
5. Once CID is unplugged, remove the tray in sits in. Take this indoors to work on or buy a replacement 8.8” size. If you use 6.5” tray you will have to adjust it slightly.
The 6.5” screen tray will need to be widened by a few mm (1/8th inch) either side. I used a hot air gun to soften the plastic and used the 8.8” screen to stretch the tray. I also used heated bolt (flame torch) of correct diameter to push the bottom edge of side lips down and sideways. With care the 8.8” screen will fit without showing any distortion or damage to the tray.
6. Refit, again take special care not to lose screws (tin foil tray).
7. Code new screen, it will not power up until coded. I have detailed the 4 fdl coding changes needed on a couple of different threads.
8. If it does power up and shows “no signal” (rare) then you have a problem and will need bmw unlock code (parts protection). Seller on eBay provides unlock service.
9. Send me a pic when it’s done. I would also be grateful if you clicked the appreciate tab on this reply.

P.s coding changes.
Using Bimmercode in expert mode HU NBT 3005 display_pip_config section
Change CID_Display_res from 800x480 to 1280x480
Change CID_Display_ size from 6.5 to 8.8
Now go out and enter 3001 section and find
Display_Variante and change from schmal (German for narrow) to breites (wide)
Now go into 3006 Nav section
Find Display_Resolution and change from 800x480 to 1280x480
In brief 4 coding changes in 3 separate section of NBT HU ecu
All changes require expert mode.
Screen works after first two code changes, nav will work also but you need to change res in nav section to get full screen effect in map view and finally section 3005 change is needed otherwise idrive home screen will only show two menu icons (like in 6.5 display) rather than 3.

Last edited by MJE60; 02-21-2019 at 02:11 PM..
Appreciate 2
      02-25-2019, 03:59 AM   #27
iceman7
Private First Class
iceman7's Avatar
Greece
77
Rep
162
Posts

Drives: X1 LCI sDrive 18i
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Athens, Greece

iTrader: (0)

Extended the idrive part of the Android 10,25 aftermarket screen using Bimmercode

Appreciate 0
      03-25-2019, 01:44 PM   #28
fontiablanco
Enlisted Member
fontiablanco's Avatar
Spain
2
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: BMW F10
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: España

iTrader: (0)

Hello, my car is an F10 of the year 2011 with CIC system and had the small screen of 6.5. I have put an android screen of 10.25. Is there any way to be able to encode to set the resolution of my screen to 8.8? Has someone managed to encode that screen size in CIC system? I have been told that it can not.
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2019, 02:38 PM   #29
MJE60
First Lieutenant
MJE60's Avatar
England
258
Rep
380
Posts

Drives: BMW f48 xline 2.0 D
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Dorset, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fontiablanco View Post
Hello, my car is an F10 of the year 2011 with CIC system and had the small screen of 6.5. I have put an android screen of 10.25. Is there any way to be able to encode to set the resolution of my screen to 8.8? Has someone managed to encode that screen size in CIC system? I have been told that it can not.
Hola
You may be better asking this question to the F10 coding experts on the Bimmerfest coding forum. It is a sister site so your Bimmerpost login will work. They have experts on CIC and also a F10 owners section. I have given link to the Coding forum, someone will definitely be able to answer your question.
Best wishes

https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=175

This site is for BMW X1 (F48) so we have different Head Units to your car
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2019, 04:21 PM   #30
fontiablanco
Enlisted Member
fontiablanco's Avatar
Spain
2
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: BMW F10
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: España

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MJE60 View Post
Hola
You may be better asking this question to the F10 coding experts on the Bimmerfest coding forum. It is a sister site so your Bimmerpost login will work. They have experts on CIC and also a F10 owners section. I have given link to the Coding forum, someone will definitely be able to answer your question.
Best wishes

https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=175

This site is for BMW X1 (F48) so we have different Head Units to your car
OK, thank you very much for your help. Your answer is useful, I will ask there to see if someone can help me, thank you.
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2019, 11:43 AM   #31
88tuning.id
Private First Class
88tuning.id's Avatar
Indonesia
35
Rep
134
Posts

Drives: E39 520i Msport
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Indonesia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fontiablanco View Post
Hello, my car is an F10 of the year 2011 with CIC system and had the small screen of 6.5. I have put an android screen of 10.25. Is there any way to be able to encode to set the resolution of my screen to 8.8? Has someone managed to encode that screen size in CIC system? I have been told that it can not.

Hi,

can you make sure whether your car got HU_Entry or HU_ENTRYNAV?

if your car has HU_ENTRYNAV, it can be coded on the module these two parameters:

1. Display_Variente: breites_display
2. Display_resolution: 8.8_1280x480


Hope this helps
i can assist you via teamviewer if you need help.



T
__________________
Instagram: @tafikhulafaa & @88tuning.id
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2019, 05:08 AM   #32
SergeyM
Registered
Russia
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: BMW X1 F48 M sport
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Moscow, Russia

iTrader: (0)

Hello! Can i make this change on X1 2019?
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2019, 05:45 PM   #33
Beams
New Member
3
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: X1 2018
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MJE60 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by daforce007 View Post
Newbie question here... How exactly do these aftermarket screens work? Do they pair with your phone via USB cable? or do you need to put your phone in tethering mode, and use the car's screen to connect to the wifi?
Hi
In brief, additional cabling via adapter allows the new unit to plug into the car's existing wiring loom. A separate control box with android software provides additional functionality (such as CarPlay). The android box basically feeds into the idrive system as an aux input, so you can switch between idrive ordinary menu and functions and the android software functionality. Idrive fdl coding changes for screen size and resolution allow idrive software to work using larger screen. The advantage is you are not pirating bmw software or trying to "hack/crack bmw CarPlay or other app integration software, these functions are instead all are licenced android versions. Given BMW are now Scr*w*ng buyers with annual licences for CarPlay instead of one off lifetime charges, it also saves annual running costs .
Please note, I have not fitted an aftermarket screen/system and cannot comment on how reliable they are. Most appear to originate out of China.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJE60 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by daforce007 View Post
Newbie question here... How exactly do these aftermarket screens work? Do they pair with your phone via USB cable? or do you need to put your phone in tethering mode, and use the car's screen to connect to the wifi?
Hi
In brief, additional cabling via adapter allows the new unit to plug into the car's existing wiring loom. A separate control box with android software provides additional functionality (such as CarPlay). The android box basically feeds into the idrive system as an aux input, so you can switch between idrive ordinary menu and functions and the android software functionality. Idrive fdl coding changes for screen size and resolution allow idrive software to work using larger screen. The advantage is you are not pirating bmw software or trying to "hack/crack bmw CarPlay or other app integration software, these functions are instead all are licenced android versions. Given BMW are now Scr*w*ng buyers with annual licences for CarPlay instead of one off lifetime charges, it also saves annual running costs .
Please note, I have not fitted an aftermarket screen/system and cannot comment on how reliable they are. Most appear to originate out of China.
When replacing the 6.5 with 8", does the original LCD trim fit 8"?
Appreciate 0
      06-29-2019, 04:01 PM   #34
MJE60
First Lieutenant
MJE60's Avatar
England
258
Rep
380
Posts

Drives: BMW f48 xline 2.0 D
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Dorset, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beams View Post
When replacing the 6.5 with 8", does the original LCD trim fit 8"?
No I does not fit but can be made to fit using patience and a hot air gun. The 6.5” trim needs to be stretched by approx 3mm at each end. I used a hot air gun and the larger CID to stretch the trim, I then used a 10mm bolt, heated to stretch the bottom corner at each end. Having adapted the trim the larger 8.8” CID fits perfectly and it looks 100% o.k (I.e imo no one would be able to tell). If you are not up to adapting the trim purchasing the larger size is possible and it is an easy swap.
Appreciate 1
Beams2.50

      06-29-2019, 06:10 PM   #35
Beams
New Member
3
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: X1 2018
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MJE60 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beams View Post
When replacing the 6.5 with 8", does the original LCD trim fit 8"?
No I does not fit but can be made to fit using patience and a hot air gun. The 6.5" trim needs to be stretched by approx 3mm at each end. I used a hot air gun and the larger CID to stretch the trim, I then used a 10mm bolt, heated to stretch the bottom corner at each end. Having adapted the trim the larger 8.8" CID fits perfectly and it looks 100% o.k (I.e imo no one would be able to tell). If you are not up to adapting the trim purchasing the larger size is possible and it is an easy swap.
Thanks! Your answers helped me clear my confusions. Much appreciated!
Appreciate 1
MJE60258.00

      09-06-2019, 10:45 AM   #36
shadowant
New Member
5
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: X1 F48
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Russia

iTrader: (0)

Hi,
and what about option S06WC (wide screen even for non navigation HU, as says BMW configurator) retrofit for F48 september 2017? I mean is it possible to install 8.8" touch screen (65508707407) for hu_entrynav2 without navigation (current 6.5" non-touch display)
Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      11-07-2019, 05:51 AM   #37
fontiablanco
Enlisted Member
fontiablanco's Avatar
Spain
2
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: BMW F10
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: España

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 88tuning.id View Post
Hi,

can you make sure whether your car got HU_Entry or HU_ENTRYNAV?

if your car has HU_ENTRYNAV, it can be coded on the module these two parameters:

1. Display_Variente: breites_display
2. Display_resolution: 8.8_1280x480


Hope this helps
i can assist you via teamviewer if you need help.



T
Sorry for the delay, I had not seen your message
I looked in my car and it doesn't appear as HU_Entry or HU_ENTRYNAV
My car appears as HU_CICHB and I can't find the parameters you tell me:
1. Display_Variente: breites_display
2. Display_resolution: 8.8_1280x480
Thank you for your help,nobody has been able to help me
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2019, 08:00 PM   #38
fjk80
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 2016 Bmw x435i
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Guys, I am new here. My car doesn’t have backup camera. Can I get dynamic trajectory parking lines if I install one of these android screens with an aftermarket camera?
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2020, 01:15 PM   #39
Beams
New Member
3
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: X1 2018
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MJE60 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beams View Post
When replacing the 6.5 with 8", does the original LCD trim fit 8"?
No I does not fit but can be made to fit using patience and a hot air gun. The 6.5" trim needs to be stretched by approx 3mm at each end. I used a hot air gun and the larger CID to stretch the trim, I then used a 10mm bolt, heated to stretch the bottom corner at each end. Having adapted the trim the larger 8.8" CID fits perfectly and it looks 100% o.k (I.e imo no one would be able to tell). If you are not up to adapting the trim purchasing the larger size is possible and it is an easy swap.
Do you know the 8.8 inch touch screen part number for 2018 X1?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 PM.




xbimmers
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST