BMW
X1 / X2
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW X1 (F48) and X2 (F39) Forums General BMW X1 Forum (F48) Anyone upgrade HiFi speakers to Focals (or other brands)?

06-10-2020, 09:28 PM   #1
Tarekith
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: BMW M35i

Anyone upgrade HiFi speakers to Focals (or other brands)?

(reposting here because it's my understanding the audio systems in the X1 and X2 are identical).

The stock audio system in the X2 is just... annoying to me. There's this huge peak around 3-5kHz that just makes everything sound overly harsh, and with just bass and treble tone controls there's no way to tame the midrange. I'm looking for a relatively quick way to tone down some of that harshness and improve the sound of things.

I'm a professional audio mastering engineer AND I used to compete in car audio many years ago, so I know how quickly I can get over obsessive about my music listening. At some point I will likely do a complete audio make over of my 2020 M35i, but for now I just want a quick drop-in fix to tame some of that harshness and improve the imaging.

I've already seen some videos on replacing the 5 main speakers for the HiFi system (do we have the subs under the seats btw?), so I know I can do it myself easy enough. But is it worth roughly $1k for the Focal replacements? I'm a big fan of their speakers from the music studio monitors they make, but I'm open to other ideas as well.

Thanks!
      06-11-2020, 03:35 AM   #2
iceman7
Second Lieutenant
Greece
Rep
Drives: X1 LCI sDrive 18i

A friend in the ΒΜW X1 Greek Club has switched to Focal

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Focal-Integ...AAAOSwJCZdg5co

Great results!

Appreciate 0
      06-11-2020, 06:59 PM   #3
Tarekith
Private First Class
United_States
Rep

Great, thanks!
      06-12-2020, 11:36 AM   #4
Ridin'Dirty
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: '93 'Beemer' R100r, '17 X1(S)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarekith View Post