BMW
X1 / X2
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW X1 (F48) and X2 (F39) Forums General BMW X1 Forum (F48) F48 x1 driver stabilisation drive moderately

06-19-2021, 01:37 PM   #1
Vik1978
Rep
Drives: BMW X1

F48 x1 driver stabilisation drive moderately

Hi

Newbie here so apologies in advance if I break any forum etiquette or rules.

I am trying to diagnose an intermittent issue on a 2016 f48 x1 20i xDrive with 36000mls. Out of the blue, driver stabilisation drive moderately message came up while cornering at low speed. BMW suggested tyre depth and sure enough, front was around 3-4mm less than rear. Fronts were replaced for same tyre as rear (bmw * rated Pirelli, now 8mm on front and 6mm on rear) and this seemed to solve the issue until a few weeks later when the message came up again. A diagnostic check reported code 440317: Pump motor, general multiple fault (and there may have been a subsequent warning about transfer box temperature). Further investigation found a technical service bulletin suggesting it was a software issue so it was updated - https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/tsbs/20...50968-9999.pdf . All was well for a few weeks but again the driver stabilisation drive moderately and 440317: Pump motor, general multiple fault came up once more while driving at low speed.

There doesn't seem to be any impact to performance (maybe a slight jerk during first occurrence of the issue, but can’t be sure that wasn’t just a pothole!) and I am unable to reproduce the message on demand. When it does happen, the message comes up once and then disappears a few seconds later. Would appreciate any advice?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2021, 09:19 PM   #2
ZZZZ
Captain
Rep
Drives: Z4 3.0i winterbeater