BMW
X1 / X2
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW X1 (F48) and X2 (F39) Forums General BMW X1 Forum (F48) engine died on hwy - never had any warnings

05-27-2021, 03:26 PM   #1
ElenaI
Rep
Drives: BMW X1 f48

engine died on hwy - never had any warnings

First-time, real newbie here, I m more curious if anyone ever experienced something similar and who or what is to blame (a bit too late for that but anyway).

So less than 3 weeks ago we got x1 f48 (late 2015) from a second owner. It had more than 200.000km but his maintenance paperwork and service book were perfect, we checked it online and it never had any issues, serial numbers were matching, few cosmetic spots and that was it. The previous owner (second we are no 3) did the regular service maintenance end of march and changed the oil filter/oil. Car went on inspection before it could get registered and passed.
about 10 days ago it got super cold here (7C) and we tried to turn on the heating and it wasn't working (AC / fans were working and there was no error). After looking at the manual we realised that it ran out of antifreeze. My husband got the recommended liquid and the heating started working.
Today we were on the highway (80km per hour) and there was soma strange clinging noise coming from the right front side and a few seconds after a white smoke mist was coming from the front right side. We stoped immediately, opened the hood and there was a very faint almost mist-like smoke coming from the plastic engine cover. I could sense a sort of a plastic / electric burn smell but nothing too overwhelming.
We immidietly called the towing service and went to the first car expert.
IMPORTANT THING! We never got any warning inside the car, no error code no flashing light in any color before and after. This is super weird since the car was reporting the error and faulty inside trunk light ( which was actually working).